Dish #4: Saag Paneer


While I wait for my mother-in-law’s saag paneer recipe, I decided to try the one in my Indian Cooking cookbook.  It wasn’t until after I made the recipe that I realized that the author’s name is Beverly Leblanc.  Hmm.  Is this why it was $3.99 at Marshall’s?

Nevertheless, the recipe seemed simple enough so I gave it a whirl.  I cubed and pan fried paneer, then put it aside.  I then sauteed an onion in ginger garlic paste and water.  I added 3 bunches of fresh spinach leaves and simmered with the lid on until it was soft.  I added garam masala, salt and chili powder.  It didn’t taste like anything.  I added more garam masala.  Nothing.  Finally, out of frustration, I added a teaspoon or so of sabji masala.  Bingo.

In the end, it tasted good, though it was a little wetter than I would have liked and I probably should have drained it.  It also didn’t really taste like any saag paneer I’d had before.  My husband pointed out that I should have chopped the spinach fine.  It wasn’t until after he said that that I realized that that was exactly what was wrong with it.  The spinach leaves were too long.

Recipes from the web:

I suspect that my Indian Cooking cookbook, beautiful as it is, is geared towards non-Indians.  When I added the amount of spices mentioned in the recipe, it didn’t have any taste.  I think I need a new book – any recommendations?  From Mom with Love looks good.

2 Comments

Filed under Cookbooks and Blogs, Paneer, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Dish #4: Saag Paneer

  1. Joe Durando

    From Mom With Love looks like a very good choice, I was going to buy it when I was looking for a Masala Dabba last year. Im sure you will be doing a review of your choice and hopefully posting it here !

  2. Pingback: Dish #12 – Palak Tofu | Adventures in Desi Cooking

Leave a Reply

