Dish #6: Kofta

A couple of weeks ago, my mother-in-law sent me a special, unrequested recipe.  She sent me one of my husband’s favorite recipes, kofta (meatballs), and told me to make it as a surprise for him.  I told her I would, but that I was going to hold it for Valentine’s Day dinner.  Since I do my desi cooking on Sundays so as to have plenty of time to work, we celebrated Valentine’s Day one day early.  I’m happy to say that it came out wonderfully!  I served it with boondi raita and onions with lime and chat masala.

I was pretty ambitious and tried to make rasgulla – a traditional Bengali sweet – for dessert.  My mother-in-law sent me her recipe for it and I followed it closely, but something went wrong somewhere.  Instead of swelling while cooking in the sugar water, the little balls completely dissolved.  I was bummed about it, but my husband said I outdid myself on the koftas and ate heartily, so it was okay 🙂  Plus, I kept a store-bought package of rasgulla in the refrigerator, just in case.

Anyway, below is my mother-in-law’s kofta recipe – enjoy!  It’s wonderful.

Ingredients:
Kofta:
1 lb ground beef
1 egg, beaten
1/2 onion, cut very tiny
1 tsp ginger garlic paste 1 teaspoon
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together and form tiny balls.  Fry in batches in 5 tablespoons of oil.

Curry:
1 onion, cut long
2 tomatoes, cut small
1 tsp ginger garlic paste
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp garam masala
1 tbsp chicken masala
4 tbsp of tomato sauce
Salt, to taste
Cilantro, to taste

In half of the remaining oil in the pan, cook the onions until they are fairly brown.  Add ginger garlic paste and tomatoes.  Cook on medium heat for a few minutes, then add turmeric and one glass of water. Turn the flame down and let the curry boil for 3 to 4 minutes.

Add the fried koftas and cover with a lid on medium flame.  Add chicken masala and turn the heat off, keeping the pan covered.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!  What are you cooking for your honey?

Share

1 Comment

Filed under Meat

One response to “Dish #6: Kofta

  1. Pingback: By the Book | Adventures in Desi Cooking

Leave a Reply

