Dish #9 – Royal Chicken Korma

I’ve owed you this post for several weeks now. Forgive me!

On the same night that I made Dal Masur, I also made Royal Chicken Korma from Madhur Jaffrey’s cookbook, “From Curries to Kebabs.” I botched it, but it was still a good recipe 🙂

I’ve always been a fan of korma. I’ve eaten Navrattan Korma and “Vegetable Korma” in Indian restaurants here in the U.S. They are usually sweet, creamy white curries with nuts, fruit and vegetables in them. So good. My husband tells me that these are not authentic – big surprise.

A little reading in Madhur Jaffrey’s book, along with some internet research, tells me that korma came from the Mughals, the Persian conquerors who invaded India and stuck around for a couple of centuries. The Mughals have a fascinating history, some of which I was lucky enough to learn from my father-in-law, and some I learned from William Dalrymple.

Recipes from the web:

I’m not ashamed to admit that, as I stated above, I botched this recipe good.  I halved the recipe, but forgot half the time that I was halving it.  I added about 5x the cinnamon that was called for.  In the end, I was so put off by all the cinnamon and disappointed by my failure that my husband’s protestations that it wasn’t bad didn’t convince me.  I will happily try this recipe again.  It had some really interesting aspects to it (e.g. soak a thread of saffron in warmed heavy cream for 2-3 hours).

Share

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Cookbooks and Blogs, Meat

2 responses to “Dish #9 – Royal Chicken Korma

  1. this is my favorite Indian dish.

  2. Pingback: Dish #11 – Sabzi Ka Korma | Adventures in Desi Cooking

Leave a Reply

