Dish #10 – Baigan Bharta

Eggplant is delicious and fun to use in recipes! Growing up, I ate eggplant parmigiana in the true Italian tradition. Though it pains me to say it, breading and frying eggplant, then coating it with cheese and tomato sauce, is not the healthiest way to cook eggplant.

I previously blogged about Aloo Baigan, but tonight I made my mother-in-law’s Baigan Bharta, which is a healthy & tasty way to cook eggplant. At first, I was worried that my Baigan Bharta wasn’t very pretty, but upon Googling some other images, I see that it is never really that aesthetically pleasing 🙂

Ingredients:

3 large eggplants
1 large onion, chopped
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
2 tsp ginger paste
2 tsp cumin
2 tbsp oil
1 bunch cilantro
4 tbsp peas, boiled
Salt to taste

Directions:

Steam the eggplants above steaming water for 20 minutes until they are soft and the skin can be pealed off. (Note: I used the microwave method, which worked great!) Mash thoroughly with a fork until you have mixed the seeds with the flesh.

Heat the oil and cumin in a pan. Add the onions and cook until they are soft.

Add the ginger paste and tomatoes, and cook for another 4 minutes.

Add the mashed eggplant, cover with a lid and cook for 7-8 minutes, stirring throughout. Add the boiled peas and cook for another 5 minutes, keeping it covered.

Garnish with cilantro.

One of my favorite things about this recipe is that it was so quick and easy.  After chopping the vegetables and microwaving the eggplant, it only took a few minutes to finish the entire dish.  The recipe yields about 6-8 servings.

2 days down, 26 to go as vegans. What are some of your favorite veggie Indian dishes?

Share

5 Comments

Filed under Vegetarian

5 responses to “Dish #10 – Baigan Bharta

  1. This sounds so yummy! I will try the recipe later this week and let you know how it goes! One of my favorite vegan recipes is really simple and so easy to make! Boil up 1 cup of millet and mix it with a can of Jyoti’s Delhi Saag (spinach and mustard greens) and voila! Dinner is ready. As usual, I like to top anything off with hummus spread over crackers. If you can make the Delhi Saag from scratch, it’d probably be even better (and healthier) but I find the canned version to be pretty decent!

  2. joe

    Looks delicous ! Very Nice Work
    That with a little Masoor Dal and a nice Chapati could make me very very happy. Okay and yes maybe a few cold Kingfishers

  3. Pingback: By the Book | Adventures in Desi Cooking

Leave a Reply

