Trip Time! Jackson Heights, Queens, NY

My husband and I took a trip with his friend to Jackson Heights, commonly referred to as Little India, to stock up on Indian groceries in anticipation of the arrival of my in-laws.  This was my first trip to Jackson Heights, though I’ve been hearing about it forever.  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to check it out for my blogosphere friends.

I found this great little video on About.com to give you an overview of what Jackson Heights has to offer:

Unfortunately, we went in the evening and didn’t have much time to spend.  We went to a supermarket called Patel Brothers but they were closing about 15 minutes after we arrived.  We scurried around to pick up our groceries and I managed to snap a few pictures.

And how beautiful is the food packaging?  I just love it.

Jackson Heights is also home to Jackson Diner, which is shown in the video above and has a counterpart in Manhattan that we’ve eaten at several times and really enjoyed.  Yum!

Leave a comment

Filed under Indian Food Around Town

Leave a Reply

