Dish #18 – Aloo Tikki

When I was growing up, I was a real meat and potatoes girl.  My mother would make breaded chicken cutlets, London broil, meatloaf… always with a side of mashed potatoes.  I loved it.  Now that I’m a vegan, I’m down to just potatoes 🙂

I was introduced to aloo tikki by my in-laws.  I’ve never seen them in a restaurant, but they are an easy and yummy thing to whip up at home quick.  And they’re vegan!  It doesn’t get any better than that.

Here is my mother-in-law’s quick and easy recipe for aloo tikki:

Ingredients
6 medium potatoes
2 tbsp butter (or vegan substitute)
3 tbsp cilantro
2 tbsp ground ginger
1 tsp salt
(Optional: green chilies cut small)

Directions:
Peel potatoes and boil them until soft.  Mash well.
While the potatoes are still warm, add butter, cilantro, ginger and salt.
Knead well to make the dough smooth and form patties.
In a nonstick pan, heat 1 tablespoon of oil.  When the oil is hot, lower to a medium flame and add tikkies.
Brown one side and turn over until both sides are crispy brown.  (Don’t put too much oil; you’re not frying.  Too much oil causes the tikkies to break apart.)

Other recipes on the web:

This recipe yielded 9 large aloo tikkies, which feeds about 3 people because potatoes are so filling. You must must must eat these with mint and tamarind chutney – YUM!  My husband and I went to a friend’s barbecue where we ate these on buns instead of burgers.  Highly recommended.
3 Comments

Filed under Quick and Easy, Vegan, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Dish #18 – Aloo Tikki

  1. My father used to make something like this with leftover mash, and he would put in whatever veg was left over or mix in some mashed rutabaga. Yours look wonderful, especially iwth the ginger, a real favorite of mine. I can almost smell the spices in your header picture – umm wonderful.

  2. Thanks for your comment! That sounds like a very smart way to use up leftovers 🙂

  3. Pingback: Best of… Vegan Recipes | Adventures in Desi Cooking

Leave a Reply

