The Hip Girl’s Guide to the Kitchen

It’s hard to believe that it’s been a year and a half since I started my cooking journey and this blog. I would like to have more recipes and dishes to show for it by now, but it can be difficult to lead a busy life and make time for cooking at the same time. Living in New York City, where restaurants, take-out places and delivery abound, makes it even harder. After a long day at work, I can buy a delicious $2.50 falafel sandwich from across the street, or I can spend 2 hours in the kitchen… hmmm.

But, as I wrote here before, I do see the value in cooking and eating at home, from so many angles. It’s less expensive. It’s better for your health. It gives you a feeling of accomplishment. It can bring couples together to prepare and eat a meal together instead of watching TV and stuffing your faces from Chinese food cartons. It’s a beautiful thing that connects me to the history of women everywhere – great grandmothers who prided themselves on nourishing their families with the fruit of their labors.

This weekend I’ve been reading Chapter 8 of my friend Kate’s classic book, The Hip Girl’s Guide to HomemakingChapter 8 is entitled, “Cooking at Home: Step Away from the Takeout Menu” 🙂 I highly recommend the book and especially this chapter to those of you out there who want to conquer your fear of the kitchen. (Exciting news: Kate is currently working on book 2, The Hip Girls’ Guide to the KitchenYes!)

Kate, even all the way from Austin you are guilting me into doing the right thing! 😉 My husband and I try to eat a mostly plant-based diet, so we tend to buy a lot of vegetables. Sadly, we get lazy and many of them go bad. (I know I’m not the only one guilty of this.) So I just took stock of my fridge and made a list of the newly purchased ingredients I can make use of. Internet/Pinterest… do your magic!

What recipes do you want to try? Have you tried any lately with success? Share, share!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookbooks and Blogs, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

