Dish #29 – Shrimp and Asparagus with Couscous

My husband and I aren’t big on seafood, but we do like shrimp scampi, so when I came across this healthy hack from Fitness Magazine, I decided to try it.

Recipe: Lemon-Garlic Shrimp & Vegetables

I didn’t follow it exactly because I didn’t have cornstarch, peppers or parsley, and I substituted veggie boullon with water for the chicken broth. Everything came out, except the shrimp and asparagus really didn’t taste like anything. In the end, I had to saute them in pesto to complete the dish.

I’m torn about pesto. As something who needs to avoid tomato-based foods (like marinara sauce), it really is a lifesaver. It is perfect atop pasta and broccoli or asparagus, or as a marinade for tofu before grilling for sandwiches. I love the stuff. It’s made with olive oil so it’s not great calorie-wise, but I would wager that, in moderation, it’s better than pouring butter all over your shrimp scampi per the normal recipe. Once I get a food processor, I’m going to try to make my own.

Anybody out there have experience with lightening pesto, or can you recommend a different sauce/seasoning to replace it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-Indian, Seafood

Leave a Reply

